Exclusivelyexclusive2’s Weblog

September 29, 2007

The Internets

Filed under: Uncategorized — exclusivelyexclusive2 @ 5:14 am

So recently, I was contemplating this blog and the fact that I have made some Internet “friends” through it.  These “friends” being people who read/comment on the blog.

In the past couple months, I’ve had the occassional opportunity to possibily run into these people at events and these possibilities have kinda made me nervous. I’ve learned the hard way the “friendships” developed over the Internets should be left on the Internets. People are rarely what they present themselves as being online. Because the Internet gives everyone a degree of anonymity, I think it makes people bolder. It’s as if they become the animated technicolor version of themselves online.

On the other hand, many people see the Internet as a medium to actually reveal themselves in ways I couldn’t imagine. It’s crazy for me how many people post up their names, their friends’ names, their photos, jobs, significant others names/photos, everything. To me that’s too much. I mean, what if you wanted to work for the FBI five years from now and they check your blog and find out you used to take Effexor for anxiety? You’d get an automatic “rejection” stamp on your application.

But seriously,  what about the people you know in REAL life who you write about? Like your girlfriend/boyfriend, sister, brother, mother? People just be wilding out telling all kinds of business and they don’t realize that it’s hurtful to other people. I’ve seen people go as far as posting pictures of current lovers without the knowledge of that person on some “look at this freaky picture my girl sent me today” or even posting up their version of “what happened” with this “trick” or that “dude” and have people lapping up their version of the “truth” like it really is just that.

Anyways, reality vs. Internet-induced delusions of reality, identity, presentations of self, ethics, all stuff to think about.

3 Comments »

  1. Yeah, it’s really dangerous. Psychologically some people tend to fall prey to invincibility when they are behind things, people, and places of power. It’s like when you’re in your car (power) and you’re blasting young Jeezy’s And Then What? and negro outta no where cuts your ass off. Well you start going off at the mouth, and driving up to see who the hell just cut you off. Now, mind you the car that cut you off is a black Cadillac with super black tint on all windows with blue lights under the bottom of the car with license plates that read, “J-EL-4life”!!! Meanwhile young jeezy is up there with Manny Fresh asking you, “And then what!?” I mean forget the fact that this person behind this bat mobile is probably into some kind of illegal activity and carrying more arsenal than a US Marine. I mean it’s how the internet is for some people. It’s a place where they can be whomever they’d like without the scalpel of a knife and foolish money (the kind of money you just role in). The internet is very powerful, I mean look at the Internet Celebs that came from obscurity? And off course there are many people who are prone to delusions of grandeur and tools like myspace is just the sort of thing to cause it to go full blown. I mean look at Avatars… It’ sad because the closeness that you can only gain with human interaction is slowly slipping away. Anyway, I’ve got to go back to my pugs, Nacho & Sanchez, and I’ve got to get my Bentley Detailed tomorrow morning…Party in the Hamptons and I’m meeting Vera Wang and Her Husband for lunch with my boyfriend the Rock. LOL!

    Comment by Cristal45 — September 29, 2007 @ 5:39 am

  2. LOL. LOL. I’ll see you at Scoop in East Hapmton for a 2 PM shopping spree, agreed? But for reals, you hit the nail on the head. We’ve all had the experience (me just tonght after seeing “The Kingdom”) of seeing a movie where the main character is kung fu’ing up some bad guy and have thought “wouldn’t it be so cool if I could just kick the ass of any person who messed with me just like Jennifer Garner does in this movie?” Then you find yourself amped on “Made You Look” while riding on the 4 train and thinking how if Shaneequa gives you one more dirty look you’re gonna drop kick her ass. Then you realize that this is real life and you will get sliced in the face or worse for trying to live out your badass fantasy. Sadly, some people never snap back into reality. Thus, the e-thuggin and e-stuntin. Thank God that HE gave me sense and a sense of modesty, shame, and mercy (lol).

    Comment by exclusivelyexclusive — September 29, 2007 @ 5:47 am

  3. “e-thuggin and e-stutin” LOL!!!!!!!!!! Yeah thank Jesus!

    Comment by Cristal45 — September 29, 2007 @ 5:51 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

